The Hurt Boss is a trusted law firm with skilled Tucker texting and driving lawyers.
Texting has become a primary form of communication over the last twenty years. It’s safe to say that it has made life easier for a lot of people. Unfortunately, it’s also caused a lot of people harm when used at an inappropriate time. Perhaps the worst time for a person to be texting is while they are operating a motor vehicle.
Most states have realized the dangers possible when texting while driving. They have taken the initiative to ban texting and other types of phone usage behind the wheel. There is currently only one state without any restrictions on texting while driving.
The various texting laws have helped reduce the frequency of accidents caused by texting, but not every driver plays by the rules. Many drivers can still be tempted by an incoming text or an update to their news feed. Shifting their attention from the road to the phone for only a moment is enough time to cause a serious accident.
Our Tucker texting and driving accident lawyers have an in-depth understanding of Georgia laws. We understand the dangers of texting while driving and the serious damage that it can cause to other motorists. If you were in a serious accident with someone who was texting while driving, then you may be entitled to compensation. Call our Tucker car accident lawyers at 678-806-7715 for a free legal consultation.
Table of Contents
Georgia Laws Against Texting and Driving
Georgia is considered a “hands-free” state. This means that drivers may still operate their phones using voice commands but cannot take their hands off of the wheel to communicate via text. Georgia officially implemented the Hands-Free Georgia Act in July of 2018.
The law forbids performing specific actions on your phone while operating a vehicle. In addition to texting, drivers may not watch videos, browse the internet, update their social media, or record a video. The phone may not be used regardless of its size or position. Drivers may still communicate, find directions, or listen to music as long as they are using a hands-free device like a Bluetooth speaker.
How Texting Can Affect Your Driving
The dangers associated with texting while driving are caused by the lack of focus that occurs when reading or sending a message. Operating a phone takes the driver’s attention away from the road, their vehicle, and nearby pedestrians. It’s estimated that texting makes a driver six times more likely to cause an accident compared to driving while drunk.
Nearly 25 percent of all automobile accidents in the United States are caused by texting. Each text can take a driver’s attention away from the road for an average of five seconds. That’s enough time to cover a lot of distance when driving at moderate speeds. It also means the driver will spend around 400 percent more time with their focus, not on the road.
How Do We Prove That the At-Fault Party Was Texting?
Proving that another driver was texting during an accident requires a comprehensive legal approach. The first step is to gather statements from everyone who was involved with or witnessed the accident. Witness testimony from a reliable source may be enough to prove the facts of the case. There may also be statements from police offers or footage from a nearby camera.
The most reliable way to determine if the driver was texting is to review their phone records. Drivers who are guilty of texting while driving are unlikely to offer these records willingly. However, we can secure a subpoena for the records and the driver will have no option but to share the records.
Why Do I Need a Texting and Driving Lawyer?
Working with a Tucker personal injury lawyer will make your accident claim significantly easier to process. For example, it will be nearly impossible for a normal civilian to request records from a phone company. Securing these records almost always requires a subpoena issued by the court. By combining all of the evidence we can gather we will be able to prove whether the other driver was texting and is at fault for your injuries.
How Much Will a Lawyer Cost?
Our services do not cost anything upfront. We work according to a contingency fee. That means that we only receive a payment if you settle or win your claim at trial. The amount that we receive is a small percentage of the total claim. There’s no risk in working with our team and we don’t get paid if you do not get paid.
How Long Do I Have to File a Claim in Georgia?
The personal injury statute of limitations for an automobile accident in Georgia is exactly 2 years. You also have up to 4 years to file a claim for property damage to the vehicle. We never recommend waiting this long. It’s always easier to win a case when you file the claim as soon as possible.
Get a Free Case Review With a Tucker Texting and Driving Lawyer!
Similar to drinking while driving, texting is a serious threat to motorists and pedestrians. States like Georgia have implemented tough laws to reduce this risk but those laws aren’t always obeyed. When a driver decides to break the law and causes an accident, then they are considered responsible for your injuries. We can help you receive compensation for those injuries from the responsible party.